Bing Ads automated rules and bids offers more control and flexibility over when you enable campaigns, adjust budgets and send email alerts. With automatic rules, you can change keyword bids automatically, monitor an ad group’s performance, and start and stop your campaign at preset times.
By the end of this article, you will not only understand how the different kinds of Bing Ads automated rules and bids work, but also know how to:
Most common bidding, budgeting and campaign planning tasks that advertisers big and small perform align well with Bing Ads’ Automated rules. The ability to schedule keyword bid adjustments and campaign operations on daily, weekly, and monthly basis can amount to invaluable time savings and efficiency gains.
Imagine you were running a campaign that has a strict budget that fluctuates month to month. Chances are you don’t want to be staring at your watch at 11:58 PM waiting to change budgets at the end of every month. Automated rules provide a perfect opportunity to launch a campaign when you’re on vacation and unplugged. You can automatically increase your ad group and keyword bids during holiday rushes, and receive emails when rules run and make changes at your convenience.
Although your campaign will always require some monitoring, you can automate many tasks. Here are a few examples of how advertisers are using Bing Ads automated rules and bids to help them manage their campaigns.
Read more about Ways to use automated rules and how to create them.
From the Campaigns, Ad Groups, Ads or Keywords tabs, click Automate to see all the rules you can set. Choose what you want to have happen, and when you want it to happen. Click Save.
Let’s say you want to display ads for a limited-time-only sale on New Year’s Day. You want to do this without working at your desk at midnight. Before creating the rules, you need to create your special-event campaign, complete with keywords and ads. Set that campaign to Paused. Once you've got your campaign ready, create the first rule to start the campaign and the second rule to pause it again at the end of the day:
Click Campaigns at the top of the page, then click the Campaigns tab. Click Automate and select Enable campaigns when. Then set the following:
Apply to: Selected campaigns
Do this: Enable campaigns
How often: Once, January 1, 12 AM
You can also create a second rule to stop the campaign at the end of the day. Click Campaigns at the top of the page, then click the Campaigns tab. Click Automate and select Pause campaigns when. Then set the following:
Apply to: Selected campaigns
Do this: Pause campaigns
How often: Once, January 2, 12 AM
Learn more and watch our video on how to Automate your Bing Ads campaigns.
You can also set an automated rule to notify you by email -- but not to make any changes -- when certain criteria are met. From the Campaigns, Ad Groups, Ads, or Keywords tab, click Automate, then click Notify me when. Create a rule as outlined above. Click Save.
When the criteria are met, you will receive a notification email.*
Your bid strategy setting tells Bing Ads how you want to manage your bids. Whichever bid strategy you use, Bing Ads will always respect your budget limit. Currently, there are five bid strategy options: Manual, Enhanced CPC, Maximize Clicks, Maximize Conversions, and Target CPA.
Comparing bid strategies:
Do I set bids myself?
Do I need conversion tracking?
Can I use a third-party bid management tool?
Read more about the five different automatic bid styles.
You set bid strategy at the campaign level. To change a campaign's bid strategy, click the Settings tab on the Campaigns page. Under Bid strategy, select the strategy you want to use.
This bid strategy will apply to your entire campaign, but you can set an individual ad group’s or keyword’s bid strategy to Manual at any time. Notes
Note: BNote: id strategy must run for 15 days to accrue enough data to bid optimally. However, you will see bids start changing automatically within two hours.
If you want full control for some individual bids, you can override a campaign's bid strategy for any ad group or keyword.
On the Campaigns page, either click the Ad Groups tab or the Keywords tab. Select the checkbox next to appropriate ad group or keyword. Under Bid strategy, choose Use the bid I set.
The Bid strategy type column in the table in the Ad Groups or Keywords tab shows you which bid strategy is being used. In addition, in the Search bid column (Ad Groups tab) or Bid column (Keywords tab), you'll see the name of the bid strategy in parentheses.
Ads that appear on the first page tend to get significantly more clicks than ads that appear on deeper search result pages. To get your ads into these valuable positions, Bing Ads offers cost-per-click (CPC) bid estimates for you to use while setting up your bids.
In the Keywords tab, you will find 3 kinds of bid estimates available to help get your ad on the first page when a search query matches your keywords exactly.
First page bid estimate: The bid you likely need to set for your ad to show anywhere on the first page search results.
Mainline bid estimate: The bid estimate you likely need to set for your ad to show among the ads on the mainline of search results.
Best position bid estimate The bid you likely need to set for your ad to be shown in the first position at the top of the first page of search results.
First page, mainline, and best position bid estimates show the bid you will likely need for your ad to reach your preferred placement in search results for the device or devices you are targeting. For example, if your campaign only runs on mobile devices, the first page bid estimate will reflect the bid likely required to reach the first page of the search results on mobile devices.
To increase your bids to move your ads to the first page, first go to the Opportunities page. If the suggestion is available to Increase keyword bids to move your ads to the first page, click View Opportunities.
Click Apply. (To see more details, click View, or to remove the opportunity, click Dismiss.)
Imagine you had two automated rules, one that decreases keyword bids by 5% if your click-through rate is less than 2.5%, and another which increases your keyword bid if your cost per conversion is less than $10. Now imagine that one of your keywords has a click-through rate of 2.4% and a cost per conversion of $4. This would match both rules, and both sets of changes would be made, which might not be a desired action in this case.
When using Bing Ads automated rules, you want to ensure that you’re gathering enough information before making decisions that impact performance. If five people walked into your store on Saturday and bought a table and chair set, would you close your housewares business, or stop selling couches and loveseats? Probably not, and the same applies here. Make sure the rules you are creating provide you with enough information to make an informed decision. Use daily data for daily rules, weekly data for weekly rules, and monthly data for monthly rules.
Businesses with multiple products and services should evaluate the application of automated rules based on the performance of each product or service within their Bing Ads account. Rather than applying one automated rule to your entire account, try applying similar rules with different criteria to subsets of your account instead. This way you are customizing rules to different subsets to optimize the performance of each.
Automated rule previews provide a way for you to evaluate the impact of your automated rules before applying these changes to your Bing Ads account. This can help you determine whether the criteria in your automated rule is capturing the right keywords, and whether the rules you create will have the desired impact.
Combining automated rules with the Opportunities tab, Save this set of columns option can help you optimize your campaigns in less time. The updated Simple View in the Opportunities tab is designed to allow you to quickly review impacts and apply new opportunities.
The new Save this set of columns option lets you save your favorite views in the Campaign grids. Now you can move between the views you want with minimal effort.
On the Automated rules page you can enable, pause, delete, or edit your automated rules. This page also provides a history of the rules that have run in the last 90 days. If the rule resulted in any changes, there will be a view details link that will show all of the updates made by the rule.
To enable, pause, or delete an existing rule, click Automated rules in the left panel, under Bulk Operations. Select the checkbox next to the rules you want to change. Click Change status, and then click Enable, Pause, or Delete.
To edit an existing rule, click Automated rules in the left panel, under Bulk Operations. In the Action column (on the right side of the page), click Edit rule.
When you edit a rule, the original rule is deleted and Bing Ads creates new rule. This lets you track the changes resulting from both the new rule and original rule separately.
Note: If the author of an automated rule deletes his/her account, the automated rule will stop running.
Bing Ads automated rules and bids work by offering advertisers the opportunity to maximize their efficiency by using specific criteria to make changes to their Bing Ads account. These changes are applied in a wide variety of ways.
When creating automated rules, it’s important to remember:
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